For 133 years, the Pogue Hotel building has been a private home, a hotel, a community center, and a branch library. It has served the Red Cross, the Woodmen of the World, the American Legion and has been home to the Lemon Cove Women’s Club for 76 years.
In 1879, the large two-story thirteen room hotel was constructed, known as "The Cottonwoods," by the partnership of C.W. Crocker and J.B. Wallace of San Francisco, and J.W.C. Pogue. The Pogue family came to this lime kiln area in 1865 and eventually ownded over 10,000 acres here. Mr. Pogue planted citrus here in 1877.
He became the sole owner of the Hotel and partnership in 1881 and this was his home until his death in 1907.
Nora Alice Pogue Montgomery, the youngest of the nine Pogue children, who was born in the house, and her husband, Dr. R.B. Montgomery, lived there until 1920 when they built their own home.
In 1934, the was remodeled to become a community center. In 1936, Mrs. Montgomery deeded the building to the Lemon Cove Women's Club.
Because of the rich history of the Pogue family contribution to Lemon Cove, The Pogue Hotel received a historical marker from the Tulare County Historical Society in 1977. It was accepted into the National Registry of Historical Places in 1991.